10 Year Plan

Hi there,

Once I hit 25 I decided my youth was over. And, let’s face it, it probably was. I much prefer napping to…well..anything, I’d rather wear my pajamas (or nothing) around the house than get dolled up and go out, and I’ve starting to use the phrases like ‘dolled up’ and ‘back in my day…’.

However, I also decided that the next 10 years are going to be some pretty amazing years. The next 10 years will see me have babies, get married, and become an accredited psychologist. If I’m lucky, I’ll also become an Aunty once or twice (or thrice or more!). I’m also lucky enough to have parents that are still quite young so, barring any accidents or disease, they should still be alive and kicking when I reach 35. I’ll also buy a house, and a car, and get a dog (or 2..). I’ll also go on a couple of holidays and see the world.

Now, my depression and anxiety often has me restricted to looking at the next day in order to survive. 10 years?! How am I supposed to look at the next 10 years when I don’t even know if I can survive the next 10 minutes?!
However, as part of my journey of recovery, I decided that looking at all the good things to come isn’t such a bad idea. In looking ahead, I also decided I needed a plan (albeit, a flexible one) for the next 10 years.

Enter my 10 year plan/level 10 life. Here are my 10 goals per section for the next 10 years of my life.

Finances
– Buy a house
– With at least 20% deposit between my partner and I
– Buy a car
– Earn 1k per week
– Have $50,000 in savings
– Put money towards my super
– Put aside enough money so 6 months’ worth of expenses are saved
– Purchase an investment property
– Be able to afford at least two holidays overseas
– Accept the need to be frugal during down times
– Flip a property

Career
– Finish my Masters in Education
– Work as a teacher
– Have a range of lesson plans at my disposal
– Get a job at my children’s school
– Foster an environment that encourages love of learning, acceptance, and kindness
– Join and participate in groups of other educators
– Work towards my Psychology Masters
– Complete free courses to improve my teaching
– Have a second source of income
– Work on transferable skills

Fun and Recreation
– Go to Fiji
– Go to New Zealand
– Go to Hawaii
– Go Go Karting
– Play Laser Tag
– Skydive
– Create a YouTube Channel
– Have a weekend away at least once a year
– Fly in a hot air balloon
– See the Northern Lights (and get a cheeky bum photo in front of them)

Family
– Have a baby
– Have another baby!
– Get a dog
– Host a Christmas at ours
– Take kids to Western Australia to see family
– Skype with mom at least once/fortnight
– Skype with pop at least once/fortnight
– Touch base with dad at least once/fortnight
– Keep in touch with siblings
– Catch up with friends once a month (at least)

Romantic Relationships
– Hear “I love you”
– Say “I love you” as often as I want/can
– Get engaged
– Get married
– Go on a honeymoon
– Go stargazing together
– Keep the romance alive
– Encourage and compliment my partner regularly
– Go camping together
– Keep track of our adventures through photos/journalling

Health & Fitness
– Be 100% vegan
– Be a healthy weight (BMI)
– Climb Bluff Noll
– Get regular massages
– Walk regularly
– Squat regularly
– Sit up regularly
– Buy one of those mattresses/bed bases that move
– Have a proper pillow!
– Eat 2 fruit and 5 vegetables a day.

Spirituality & Self Care
– Talk about God with my children
– Pray with my children
– Get Baptised
– See a sunrise and sunset on the same day
– No longer need medication
– Develop and maintain a nightly routine
– Develop and maintain a morning routine
– Track Maslow’s Hierarchy of Needs
– Continue to track wellness to better understand myself and needs
– Practice self-care as part of my everyday life

Personal Development and Growth
– Be fluent in at least two languages other than English
– Participate in a martial arts program
– Learn origami
– Learn sign language
– Learn to code
– Read all the books on my ‘100 books to read in 10 years’ list (coming soon!)
– Khan Academy
– Ted Talks
– Work out an ideal schedule, track it, and try to adhere to it
– Figure out my ‘high’ times and ‘low’ times in terms of productivity and utilise them efficiently

Giving
– Sponsor a child
– Pay for someone else’s groceries
– Give blood regularly
– Pay for someone else’s petrol
– Tip people! (this is not common practice in Australia, but I’ve always wanted to start)
– Support GoFundMe’s
– Support Kickstarter’s
– Fund Kiva loans
– Donate to charities
– Buy surprises for my family and send them to them

Physical Environment and Self
– Have a tea collection
– Get my broken finger fixed
– Get my scars minimised
– Get a large world map and display it on the wall
– Have a world globe
– Hire a cleaner to come through once per week
– Maintain a clean environment
– Set up my classroom to induce positivity and learning
– Have indoor plants
– Update interior regularly to keep things fresh (A change is as good as a holiday!)

Bonus! This section isn’t included in the level 10 life usually, but I opted to create this section after I realised there was a need for it in my life. It only has seven goals in it at the moment, but I’ll add any as they/if they arise.

Body/Appearance
– Pedicures
– Manicures
– Laser Hair Removal
– Hair – Professional wash and blow dry once a month
– Skin care routine
– Facials
– Teeth whitened

So there we go! This list makes me excited for the future and I hope you find some inspiration in here.

Leave a Reply

